What do you need help on? Cancel X
  Prev Next  
Close X Guide and Walkthrough
by CyricZ

Table of Contents

Jump to:
Would you recommend this Guide? Yes No Hide
Send Skip Hide

Guide and Walkthrough by CyricZ

Version: 1.0 | Updated: 02/09/2020
FAQ of the Month Winner: February 2020 | Highest Rated Guide

Controls and Techniques


Main Menu -

You will only have access to the Main Menu after the game saves once.

  • New Game - Start a new Save File
  • Load - Load up a previously stored Save File
  • Options - Access the Options Menu (see below under Pause Menu)

PC Menu -

This is accessed from the player's PC in Neuron:

  • Archives

Pause Menu -

This can be opened at most points using the Minus Button:

  • Map - The map shows your current location and travelling areas that you can access. There are icons marking the player, Cases (colored red and blue), points of interest in the environment (like vending machines or elevators), and your objective. Furthermore, there's a tally in the upper-left that shows your progress in the File with Red Matter Cleanup, the File's Cases, and the discovered Items in the area.
  • Item - This displays all items currently carried. When you select a Recovery Item, you'll have the option of using it right there or registering it on your Item Wheel for later access. You can also register Combat Items on your wheel, but can only use them from the Item Wheel. Items are divided into five types:
    • Recovery Items - These heal damage and can also be used for your Legion in some cases. Drinks purchased from vending machines can also supply short-term buffs and debuffs.
    • Combat Items - Items that can be deployed in combat to cause damage or protect you.
    • Materials - Keep track of the Material Codes you've found here.
    • Salvage Items - These items are largely junk that you can sell at shops. Cat Food, however, you might want to hang on to.
    • Key Items - These are items that are used in the story or cosmetic items. They cannot be used or discarded. They just remain in your inventory.
  • Legion - This section shows all your current Legions and a quick look at their stats, including level, attack, defense, and equipped Legion Skills. Furthermore, you can access:
    • Legion Learning - From here you can go to each Legion's Skill Tree and spend Gene Code and Material Code to teach the Legions new Skills. More info is available in each Legion's section.
    • Assign Skills - From here, you can assign up to two equippable Skills for each Legion. More info is available in each Legion's section.
    • Abilities - These are largely passive buffs you can find out in the field and equip on your Legions, typically earned from defeat
    • Reorganize - When you earn Legions, they're each assigned to a slot on the Legion Wheel, as well as a space in the rotation. You can use this section to change the organization, which will also change the order in which they appear when the Y Button is pressed to switch them.
  • Status - In this section, you can view your current profile's stats, including your rank, money and other currencies, and upgrade levels for your X-Baton and Legatus. You can also access Orders, this game's achievement system.
  • Co-Op - This allows you to initiate Co-Op play, where one person controls the player character, and another the active Legion. I'll just say right now that co-op is not good at all in this game, so please avoid it.
  • System -
    • Options - Access the Options Menu (below)
    • Help - Access helpful gameplay information, including a wealth of combat info.
    • Load - Load up last save file. This game autosaves, so your last save is usually the last time you accessed the menu.
    • File Options - Only accessible on a second run through the File, this allows you to abort the current File, go to File Results, and return to the latest File you've accessed.
    • Return to Title - Quit the game and go back to the title screen.
    • Unchained Mode - This is accessible only on Casual difficulty. In this mode, you can set several game parameters to occur automatically. This can be useful for people who have difficulty with this game's combat, but reminder that you will not be ranked on Casual Difficulty.

Options Menu -

Change various settings in the game. Individual options can be set each for TV Mode and Handheld Mode.

  • Basic Settings -
    • Brightness - Adjust the brightness of the display.
    • Vibration - Choose whether your controller vibrates in play.
    • Legatus Menu Map Default - With this turned on, whenever you hit the Minus Button in gameplay, you'll immediately go to the map. If it's off, you'll go to the last menu you accessed.
    • Autoplay Voiced Text - With this turned on, voiced text will auto-advance to the next line without needing input once it finishes.
    • Autoplay Silent Text - With this turned on, any non-voiced text will auto-advance to the next line without needing input.
    • Text Display Type - "Text Scroll" feeds the text in over the course of the speaking. "Instant" displays the entire line at once.
    • Fixed Map Screen Display -
    • Fixed Minimap Display -
    • Subtitle Background Display - With this turned on, subtitles will have a background behind them to make them easier to read, but can also block some of the in-game graphics.
  • Camera -
    • Camera X/Y Axis - If "Normal" then tilting the Right Stick in a direction will move the "camera itself" in that direction, meaning tilting to the right will move the camera to the right, and shift the perspective to the left. "Inverted" reverses this.
    • Camera X/Y Rotation Speed - Adjusts the speed the camera moves when tilted.
    • Aiming Camera X/Y Rotation Speed - Adjusts the speed the camera moves specifically in any aiming, such as the Sword or Arrow Legion skills.
    • Camera Auto-Reset Speed - This adjusts how quickly the camera will move to a game-specified perspective while moving around.
    • Fixed Camera in Combat - With this turned on, the camera will not move or rotate while in combat.
    • Fixed Player Position -
    • Follow Enemy Under Attack -
  • Controls - Allows you to choose from four presets of controls. This guide assumes you're using Preset A.
  • Audio -
    • BGM Volume/SFX Volume/Voice Volume - Allows you to adjust the various sound source volumes in the game.
    • IRIS Voice Setting - You can unlock additional voices for the IRIS system over the course of the game. Switch the voice here.
  • Language - (Can only be changed on the Main Menu)
    • Voice Language - Default is English, but Japanese can also be chosen.
    • Display Language - Choose what the text appears as. Default is whatever your Switch is set to, but it can be changed to one of ten languages.
  • Customize UI Color - (Only available during gameplay)
    • Colors - You can pick the color of the Menu and text boxes here. Initially, you'll only have a few colors available, but you can unlock more over the course of the game's completion.
    • Change Opacity - With this, you can soften the brightness of the color of the boxes.
  • HUD Display Settings - (Only available during gameplay) In this section, you can choose what you want on the screen as far as your HUD (Heads-Up Display) is concerned. You can remove your health display, Legion energy gauge, and just about any other game aspect.
  • Reset to Default - Resets everything to factory default.
CyricZ started writing to get all the thoughts in his head about video games onto paper and it got out of hand.

If you're looking for other guides by him, you can search the Yakuza series or the LEGO series on GameFAQs.