Detailed Reviews

Review Title Posted Author Rating
Square really outdid themselves, kupo! 07/05/06 Archmonk Iga
It's like Growing up with sports cars all your life, Losing your money and having to buy a Pinto. 01/02/07 Bigmac_what
Most Boring RPG I've Ever Played 12/13/06 JPtheGreat
An amazing game which moved me deeply. 03/28/08 Krauser86
Magnum Opus of the Numbered Series 07/28/05 Shotgunnova
One of the single most underrated and best games Squaresoft has ever produced 09/27/10 UltimaterializerX
On Cloud Nine... 06/06/11 _Spin_Cycle_
Listen to me, this game is phenomenal in every respect... 03/08/06 4589
A good effort but several pegs short of a true epic 05/06/03 Alecto
An amazing fusion of storytelling and gameplay 09/11/08 aNubOnRoids
After nine tries, they finally got it just right 10/15/07 Arkrex
Pretty good, but far too flawed to be anywhere near great. 05/28/08 Black_Seed
Final Fantasy IX offers both the best and worst of Final Fantasy. 12/23/03 Braben
Flawed battle system. Underwhelming story. Still fun. 03/10/08 Computerbug8
Corran450's Review Series Vol 5: Final Fantasy IX 08/06/08 corran450
Put the Fantasy back in Final Fantasy. Pure Fun 08/13/04 CTUAgentJackBauer
"Bring the series back to the roots"? Give me a break! 06/22/03 Cyril
Final Fantasy's Best 12/11/08 DanLionheart
"Back to the Roots" has never meant so much fun before 04/13/07 darthjulian
Let me take you back in time, rewind to ‘89 06/19/03 Denouement
Final Fantasy IX, adding to the ever growing saga. 06/20/07 DivideofNations
A Mostly Sunny Life 06/29/06 Draqq_Zyxorian
Room for improvement (reminds you of this tagline, doesn't it?) 08/05/04 EDDY555
Simply Beautiful 01/02/06 eolsen
An outstanding closure for the Playstation series of Square's beloved franchise. 08/07/12 Exodist
Sophisticated, poetic and romantic - the roots of Final Fantasy. 11/29/04 Fein
Not a perfect 10, but the best game in my collection 04/24/06 Foalku
Retro gaming may be Square's intention, but 'Final Fantasy IX' makes a much different impression... 02/09/03 Garbol Shora
Now, can anyone tell me what is a Qu? 07/25/02 Halron2
When I bought this game, I did not expect to get a muted movie... 08/16/00 Happy Matt
The crystal really is back...and boy is it a gem! 04/06/09 HollywoodRPG
"The best of the old" is not what I was hoping... 11/15/17 jayare55
If you love the others, more than likely you will love this. 05/11/05 Johnny Mercyside
Does FFIX still hold its own? Mostly. 03/19/07 JohnRobertLynch
Nothing beats a good ol' bit of RPG goodness...... 09/09/05 Jonny Dangerous
"Oooh... soft" ~ Zidane Tribal 12/13/04 Leebo
Another brilliant title in the series 04/12/10 lighty691
An Innovative and Fitting Tribute to a Great Generation of Gaming. 04/07/04 lokey1
Old school Final Fantasy is Back, but is that a good thing? 11/02/09 LordShibas
Glittering prizes and endless compromises shatter the illusion of integrity 09/29/03 Mariner
Old school with new school.. is that good? You're Not Alone! 11/25/00 Master LL
The unsung hero of the franchise is full of charm and life. 03/26/13 nastynate3118
Charming and nearly impossible to put down, playing Final Fantasy IX is like getting to control a really good book 02/24/10 nintendosega
Fantastic Fantasy 08/24/06 Osafune2
I want mail kupo! 04/30/04 PRINCESSMAGICAL
The Start of Square's Fall 10/10/14 Proudnerd
I fell asleep while playing this boring game 12/12/00 RPG Critic
An under appreciated gem 07/10/15 rross46
Final Fantasy IX is truly perfect 07/27/06 ryliru
*Yawn* Been there, done that... 01/18/01 SCCAN85
The RPG of the Year, and beyond 01/13/01 SDJaY
A perfect mix of happy-go-lucky fantasy and serious character development 07/15/09 ShapeQuest
Final Fantasy IX is the bastard child of the Final Fantasy series that nobody seems to care about 12/26/05 Shivan Reincarnated
All in favor of marooning Steiner on a deserted island speak up. *Shneepshnop cautiously raises hand* 06/03/04 shneepshnop
The Best Final Fantasy. Beyond a Shadow of a Doubt 09/12/13 sirloinestake
An overrated spin-off forced to become a main-series title 08/11/17 Sky Render
Final Fantasy IX..Games simply just dont get better then this. 04/11/03 TBnumber81
Has it's weak points - but one hell of an amazing epic! 06/21/05 Thlayli_rah
Big heads are back, big-time! 12/27/02 Tom Clark
Back to the basics again boys. And sometimes that could be the best strategy 01/02/07 Tricky
The Crystals Are Back Once Again!!! - ysf's Review Of The Millennium!!! 12/16/02 YSF
The game I got my name from... 12/15/02 ZidaneTribal13
There's a reason why this is the best rated Final Fantasy game on Gamerankings. 10/13/10 Zylo the wolf

Quick Reviews

Review Title Posted Author Rating
Legendary. That's what I expected. Oh so close. That's what I got. 07/16/01 Psycho Penguin
Its strength lies in its characters 06/19/13 AnalyticalGamer
Wow. Square's series is now better than ever 11/22/00 bx4ever
A faithful review of the latest FF 07/30/00 Camelia
One memorable Piece by Square 12/16/09 chaosr1d3r
A great Final Fantasy game 01/11/10 Cymery
I realized my mistake... 01/19/01 Dark Templar
The Best Game Ever. 07/07/08 DemonicRider
I have nothing to say... 12/01/00 DXie
Just an above average game but DEFINITELY BETTER than FFVIII! 08/16/00 Edwin.C
Sad that It's the last 10/01/00 erauqSsIdlroWehT
One of the best you'll play 07/01/08 ertfert
The weakest Final Fantasy since part V 11/25/00 Garan
And I thought Chrono Cross was good... 11/18/00 Haunter12O
an unforgettable gaming experience 09/14/07 HeavenlyRikku
It tries to do too much, but maybe that's a good thing. 03/27/09 japanzaman
The final good final fantasy game 09/08/08 KawaiiKitsu
A mix of old and new equals: Final Fantasy Throw Up 01/05/01 MCauthon
The Overlooked Installment of the Franchise 03/24/08 MDucks
A work of art. 01/13/01 Nemesis
Old school RPGers rejoice! This is probably Squaresoft's best effort on the PSX 08/21/00 PContaminator
Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a NEW number one RPG! 09/04/00 PWolfstien
*sigh* I liked the last one better... 11/17/00 Reservoir Dog
Don't take a 3-day leave off your work for this game 11/13/00 Ruk Chan
There's a good reason we skipped from 8 to 10 10/06/08 Saneasylum89
A good game, but it could have been a lot better. 11/21/00 Sardius
It's good. But not the Best 11/10/00 SLASHR4
Vintage Final Fantasy (some spoilers inside) 01/29/09 slyfan926
A very cute game plagued by a mature story with silly childish characters 10/01/13 SquallEX8
So what if it's not about an emo with a huge sword? 10/06/08 SuperGamecube64
I just want to say I spent $60 on importing the game and it's WORTH IT trust me! 07/28/00 Underdog
Just because it is a FF game, doesn't mean it's a HIT! 08/10/00 Valour
Final Fantasy IX brings back the Fantasy since VI 11/22/10 Wind_Fiend
Back to basics 10/10/07 wolverinefan

Video Reviews

Final Fantasy 9: The Game Movie - Full Story
Final Fantasy 9: The Story Summary - Full Game from Metthink
1h28m6s

Got Your Own Opinion?

Submit a review and let your voice be heard.