• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Super Mario Galaxy 2
  3. Boulder Bowl secret star

User Info: Cheeze_E_Breath

Cheeze_E_Breath
11 months ago#1
This star is Horrible Game Design 101. Let's have the player try to bring a Goomba to a gold robot without losing the Goomba. Oh, there's only two Goombas on this planetoid that's filled with obstacles that can easily kill these Goombas in one hit. Oh yeah, if you lose both Goombas, you have to kill yourself to try again.

Seriously, who at Nintendo thought this was a good idea? This is my first time playing through this game and this might be the worst star I've come across so far. Talk about a poorly made and poorly thoughtout mission.

User Info: Distant_Rainbow

Distant_Rainbow
11 months ago#2
Unless the gripe is about the Star being way too obvious/not hidden, I don't see what the problem is.

It's just a matter of timing the act of luring the Goomba over the Chomp tracks so it doesn't get squished. Simple. If that's too difficult for you I don't know what to tell you, lots and lots of games straight-out instantly kill you if you don't succeed in much stricter windows of timing. At least since this is a secret it doesn't flat out kill you for losing your Goombas anyway, and it doesn't have a time limit, either.
Link meets Fire Emblem in CYOA: Tales of Elibe! Come read, and find out what happens! Click below!
https://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/468480-fire-emblem/77111212

User Info: Hotel_Security

Hotel_Security
11 months ago#3
Unless the gripe is about the Star being way too obvious/not hidden, I don't see what the problem is.

The gripe is "This part is difficult so, rather than blame my own shortcomings, I'll just blame the game and pretend it's "bad design."