• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Mirror's Edge
  3. Landing rolls

User Info: Wratts

Wratts
4 years ago#1
I'm new to the game and finding it hard to gauge how to properly execute a roll (in order to reduce fall damage on a landing after jumps from great heights).

Are you technically supposed to press the button immediately before, during, or after the animation frame of landing?

Do you tap, or hold the key for this to work right?

User Info: Jeff Andonuts

Jeff Andonuts
4 years ago#2
Just got the game, so I've only played about an hour. I press and hold it right before I land, and I do the roll.

Not too pleased with this game. Cool ideas but horrible execution.

How he hell am I supposed to appreciate running and jumping around if I'm always being chased by retarded policemen in linear tri-colored levels where the only reason I die is because I don't know where I'm supposed to go so I have to repeat the jumps again?

It's just not a smooth playing experience. Frustrating more than fun. Needs an open-world feel.

Wratts
4 years ago#3
Thanks for sharing. I've already completed the story mode in the meanwhile, and I'm still not sure if I've gotten the timing of these rolls right, yet. Seems a bit hit and miss for me, I have more trouble on the shorter falls than the higher ones.