• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies
  3. I am restarting the game again...what should I do to make my experience easier?

User Info: Guergy

Guergy
8 months ago#1
Exactly what it says on the title, I am planning on restarting the game again as leveling up classes during the story portion of the game is time-consuming. I am going to restart the game but this time I am looking for some advice to make my game easier.

User Info: javajavajava

javajavajava
8 months ago#2
i've found that really investing into alchemy has made things easier, i've been doing as much alchemy as i can in my current playthrough and i haven't had to grind for levels once
:P

User Info: Kibalnuzuka

Kibalnuzuka
8 months ago#3
I started playing again this week (postgame) after putting the game away for a few years. But I still remember having an easier time going through the story than my first time doing it. Hopefully these points of advice can help.

- Have a dedicated healer and damage dealer in your party (Priest/Warrior for example).

- If your warrior learns Psyche Up from the martial artist skilltree, and your main character uses Egg On on the warrior, you could reach 100 tension with 2 turns to output massive damage during boss fights. Even better if your warrior has a falcon blade (hit 2 times in 1 turn, and combined with falcon slash from the sword skill tree, 4 times in 1 turn).

- Know the grinding spots for metal slimes, metal slash is not really worth it. Putting 100 skill points into spears for every character will enable them to use Thunder Thrust (50% crit or 50% miss) regardless of their class, greatly speeding up grinding.