• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Tales of the Abyss
  3. Is the battle system so boring to the end of the game?

User Info: Newneko2000

Newneko2000
2 months ago#1
So I started playing tales of games. I started with Tales of Legendia, which I know is one of the worst Tales of games. I managed to play for 10 hours before deciding to try different Tales of game. Dungeons were boring and battle system repetitive.
The next game I tried was Tales of the Abyss. This time story and characters were much more interesting, I did enjoy cut scenes a lot. Unfortunately battle system was as boring as in Tales of Legendia. I was surprised, because people say that this is fantastic rpg. I couldn't stand mashing attack button all the time. Special attack is just a little stronger, but slower, so there was no point in using it. Also these annoying color marks, which give you extra powerful attack if you stay in the right place, the worst idea ever.
Are all tales of games like this? I don't want to waste money and time if all I can get is the same boring battle system.

User Info: DevsBro

DevsBro
2 months ago#2
I dunno about all, but of the ones I've played (Phantasia, Symphonia, Abyss), yeah pretty much. Kind of ironic for an ARPG to be more boring than a TBRPG, but the Tales games really are.

FWIW, Abyss is the biggest offender of the three for sure. Symphonia had sorta the same problem, except the special moves are at least fun to do, even if there's not much of a point. Phantasia had kinda the opposite problem, where at times you have to spam your best special move to avoid getting your ass kicked.