This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

PS3 fan question

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PlayStation 3
  3. PS3 fan question

User Info: Jaco1100

Jaco1100
6 months ago#1
So I've had my PS3 for 5 years now (awesome console!). For the past two years I couldn't hear the cooling fan (or barely barely hear it). I didn't pay attention before that, so can't remember what it sounded like the first 3 years. Anyway, it gets quite warm here sometimes (above 32° celsius) and never has the fan made noise.

Today it is 36° celsius. So, I started playing some Mass Effect 3 ( which I have been playing for the past 5 days) and all of a sudden the fan got super loud (almost hair dryer loud) so I turned it off.

My questions:

1. Are you suppose to hear the fan when you are sitting 2 meters away from the console?

2. When the fan gets this loud, can you still continue playing? If it's not suppose to do this, how do I solve this?
:-/

User Info: Doublesouba

Doublesouba
6 months ago#2
Have you ever cleaned out the inside? These things can get dusty inside (especially the original), which causes thermals and fan speed to go up.
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 MoBo, i5 4690k, 16GB DDR3 RAM, ASUS GTX 1080 Strix. Proud owner of an '86 Chevy El Camino.

User Info: INKU48

INKU48
6 months ago#3
Can't speak for the PS3 because I haven't used it during any recent heatwaves but I know my PC and other consoles use their fans more and louder during the summer. It's not necessarily a sign that something is wrong, just that they are running warm.