• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Ys: The Ark of Napishtim
  3. Am I the only one that finds this version to be unplayable due to frame dips?

User Info: BlairBear86

BlairBear86
1 month ago#11
I just completed this version of the game. The last time I played this game was in 2005 when it was released for the PS2... fast forward 15yrs later wow. I'm a veteran of this game having completed the nightmare boss rush mode back in the day. As I got older, I got loss competitive in the gaming scene and tend to play games on their normal difficulty now, so I made a run through on this game on normal.

Thoughts. I read all the criticism about this game and I must first say, I really enjoyed this port despite all its shortcomings. Loading times for me were not an issue at all, everything loaded at a good speed in my opinion. Apparently the load times on a PSP1000 are horrendous taking up to a reported 15sec to load an area, play on a PSP2000 or emulator, load times drastically improved. The game for me ran fairly smooth for the most part, there were occasional slowdowns in certain areas most prominent when tons of enemies were on screen at once, but nothing major that really detracted the experience. One thing that is noticeable is the graphics do look muddy even when upscaled. Some things look sharp while others like enemy and character sprites look muddy unfortunately, but again, not too big of a deal with me. I don't actually see this as an issue at all if you're playing on a PSP because then you're staring at a tiny screen and little imperfections are hardly noticeable. I'm just thankful Ys VI was ported to handheld, if you wanted the best experience out of Ys VI than PC is the answer.