This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Is Cryptocurrency Mining Killing PC Gaming? No, But...

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. PC
  3. Is Cryptocurrency Mining Killing PC Gaming? No, But...

User Info: DarkKnight_sf

DarkKnight_sf
1 month ago#1
Mining crypto currency is not killing PC gaming, but certainly it is hurting PC gaming - and therefore as one of the greatest gamers here it is also hurting me.

Now personally I don't mind cryptocurrency. I studied the theory behind it in my education, it is subject within mathematics called cryptography and also I like the idea of decentralized currency, I believe it is fair for the poorest people in the world. And if cryptocurrency is to continue working, we need the network to remain fully powered by these GPUs to process transactions. I don't mine but I invested in a few currencies and I have happy about it.

The GPU market will stabilize eventually, as the mining difficulty increases the returns will be smaller for small time miners also GPU manufacturers will look at sales and adjust their production to meet the demand, but this will be over a longer time.

So is this killing PC Gaming? No, but it is hurting it. Consider where PC gaming was before mining got popular. Most multi platform titles were buggy or broken, some never get fixed. Let us not beat around the bush, no one wants to play world of war craft with PS1 level graphics. We want latest GPUs to play games with better graphics, and the multi platform titles generally always have the best graphics. Because the numbers are temporarily getting smaller, developers for the mean time will concentrate even less on PC version of games and this was already bad, and it will get even worse.