• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Overwatch
  3. Is gold or platinum the average rank?

User Info: BootLoxes

BootLoxes
4 years ago#1
This is my first season. I started playing it about 4 days ago. Currently in plat and want to know how I stand against the average player.
7700K 4.5GHZ | RTX 3070 | 16 GB RAM 3000MHZ | Samsung Evo 1TB | Asus Z170 A-R | M1 Macbook Air 8gb/512gb

User Info: Squall28

Squall28
4 years ago#2
Low Plat, high gold is average but there's a ton of variation in there. One 2500 player could wreck your whole team while another one is free kills for you.
You can't go back and change the beginning, but you can start where you are and change the ending.
-Misattributed to CS Lewis

User Info: BootLoxes

BootLoxes
4 years ago#3
Oh. Im not trying to go pro but i was hoping i was at least above average. Guess i need to reach diamond then.
7700K 4.5GHZ | RTX 3070 | 16 GB RAM 3000MHZ | Samsung Evo 1TB | Asus Z170 A-R | M1 Macbook Air 8gb/512gb

User Info: BlameAnesthesia

BlameAnesthesia
4 years ago#4
I think it's gold. Plat is technically above average, but not by much.

Also as mentioned above, there's a significant amount of variation between gold-plat.

It's better to consider a player to have a "range" of skill. Their skill isn't their rank (e.g., 2500). They have a skill ceiling and a skill floor. On their best games, they may perform at, say, a 2700. At their absolutely worst, they're performing around a 2100.

A way to interpret that is that when they tilt, they tilt pretty hard. They may not tilt often however, so they still hover closer to 2700 than 2100.

At any given game, there's no guarantee they will play at a 2500.

So this is why you might join a game in plat, and everyone seems to be performing at a gold level, and vice versa.