• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Skylanders Trap Team
  3. A few questions from a gaming dad.

User Info: LV4RedMage

LV4RedMage
4 years ago#1
I'm new to Skylanders.

1. Can a normal/average 5 year old reasonably play and complete this game (playing co-op with me playing also)?

Ex. We played and completed Lego Marvel together (me doing most of the puzzle heavy lifting).

2. Is this game Co-op out of the box? Or will I need to buy an extra portal or extra figures toys?

3. Is there plenty of content to get without buying an unreasonable amount of other toys (i've read about the elemental gates and traps)? I don't mind buying some extra figures, but I want my inital investment to feel like I got a full game.
I collect spores, molds, and fungus.

User Info: TGSnowwy

TGSnowwy
4 years ago#2
1) He or she can probably handle most of it; coop can probably handle the rest.

2) You only need 1 portal. The Starter Pack comes with enough figures for 2 players, provided neither of you "dies". Each figure is basically one "life"; if one character gets clobbered, you either start the level over or switch characters and keep going. Since the Starter Pack only has enough figures for 2 players to have 1 character each, you'll probably need to get some extras to keep you going on harder levels/bosses. Learning how to use captured villains to your advantage helps alleviate this to some degree.

3) Any single character has access to (wild guess) maybe 75% of the game, and that other 25% is optional. If you don't count the extra areas from the Adventure Packs and Expansion Packs, you can probably change that to 90% or more accessible, 10% or less locked. Each of those Packs adds 1 chapter/level to the game; there are 18 chapters/levels without the Packs.
.../\_/\...
>(^_^)<