• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Mario Kart 8
  3. Items are based on DISTANCE not POSITION

User Info: dudeDudette

dudeDudette
5 years ago#1
Yes, this is a repeat topic, but so is every single topic in these last three pages.
Coins should be less common.
Triple Red Shells shouldn't be that OP.
But just because you're in 10th it doesn't mean you should get a Bullet Bill when said Bullet Bill would probably put you in 3rd.

Play consistently, play smart, stop relying on spamming items, aim those damn green shells.
Yes, there are some stuff that could be balanced more (or balanced differently).
No, catching up isn't always impossible. I'm not a pro-gamer and I can usually catch-up to the 2nd and 1st places after a bad start.

You are getting coins? Good, either there's a group in first clumped up, or you're in first way up.
You are getting single shells? Either there's a huge group trailing together or you're in the middle, close to the lead.

Yes, sometimes you will get lucky and get a Crazy 8 in 2nd, close enough to first, and yes, sometimes the race will hinge on something stupid as a red shell. Luck is involved, and maybe the person in front of you will get a better item, or the person behind you get a shell while you get a coin (though after a LOT of races, I'd say I've only have one or two hinge on a bad-timing coin, if I drive fairly well)

But being in a low position does not garantee good items because items are not primarly based in position.

/rant

User Info: zelionx

zelionx
5 years ago#2
i support this topic
3DS: 5412-9925-4803 Everything else: ZelionX
Bad advice dog is more helpful than United Airlines' customer service

User Info: HighUlitma

HighUlitma
5 years ago#3
zelionx posted...
i support this topic