• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.

User Info: Blak4xis

Blak4xis
4 days ago#1
So I only recently came to FF14 in the grand scheme of things, but I've had a group of friends who've played since the start of ARR, and even one who picked up the game and stuck with it from the very beginning. When I started playing a few months back, most of them told me that I'd find ARR to be a drag, Heavensward to be amazing, and Stormblood to be a disappointment, and the amount of people who expressed a similar sentiment was a good many of folk.

So I'm curious... why is it that a lot of people think that Stormblood wasn't all that great in comparison to Heavensward, or rather why is it that Heavensward seems more popular? I'm no stranger to people not liking expansion content after playing WoW for way to freakin' long, but as a newbie, I've found myself liking Stormblood a lot (it's the dungeons that do it for me). Was there something that Heavensward had that was changed or missing in Stormblood?
So fresh and clean.

User Info: lightdragoon88

lightdragoon88
4 days ago#2
The problem with Stormblood, in my opinion, is that it was to disjointed.

You are finally going to Ala Mhigo, a place they have been teasing about since ARR and meet the Empire Prince who basically hands your butt on a platter back to you....only to spend the next 90% of the story on the other side of the world doing a completely different story just to come back to Ala Mhigo for a little bit.

I think the WoL in the expansion trailer best sums it up. In 1.0 he was an Archer, A Warrior in ARR, in Heavensward a Dragoon and a Dark Knight in Shadowbringer.

But in Stormblood....A Monk and Samurai.
I seek Knowledge. The most valuable resource of all.

User Info: Zurriah

Zurriah
4 days ago#3