• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn
  3. Tips on learning how to tank as of Shadowbringers?

User Info: MarkDeHyperion

MarkDeHyperion
1 month ago#1
I've been playing this game for a little over two months now and having a blast, albeit still learning a lot lol. That said, can anyone point me to some threads/videos or your own advice on how to tank as of the main changes since ShB? So far I've been grateful to have many extremely nice players with giving me advice that helped me improve my dps rotation when I would be in dungeons or things in general as I was learning the game. I decided to make an alt I wanted to focus solely for tanking (I know you can have all on one job, just mostly to play another race), but I'm lowkey anxious to dungeon with without understanding a few things lol. I'm not too sure on terms like "tank stance" I've read here and want to know the dues and don'ts. Currently I'm playing GLA/PLD though eventually I will pick up DRK and try to main. Anything helps and is very much appreciated.
Mega Man/Borderlands fanatic

User Info: Renegade

Renegade
1 month ago#2
Tank stance increases enmity generation to assist with holding mob aggro. Every tank has an ability that engages it. You keep it turned on permanently in 4-man content. In all other content you turn it off only if you're not the main tank or for mechanics requiring a tank swap.

Some abilities have been pruned, but still mostly relevant.

http://i.imgur.com/BlnLLeX.png
http://i.imgur.com/PELu7.png [] http://i.imgur.com/Um6Qk.png

User Info: rajin_donuts

rajin_donuts
1 month ago#3