You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
I checked the FAQs for this information, and it doesn't seem to be there, so I thought I'd post this here.
As you probably know, if two characters use a skill on the same enemy back to back, they may combine to make a combo skill. This causes both skills to do extra damage, and if it kills the enemy, you both gain mana and exp, like a team attack. But there's some seemingly unknown rules about which combinations work and which don't.
From my own testing, it seems like the majority of combinations are based on this simple rule:
- If the skill changes the position of the enemy (like the fist weapon's Triple Strike), or has a cinematic animation (like Stella's Bane Rose and most high level weapon skills) it has to go first.
- If the skill changes the position of the user (like the spear weapon's Impaler Drop), it has to go second.
- Skills that do neither (like Mao's Blast Finger) can go either first or second.
For skills that hit multiple opponents, you can get a combo skills even if one of the attacks hits only one of the targetted characters. For example, a Blade Rush combined with an Impaler Drop will cause the Blade Rush to do boosted damage on everyone in its hit area, even though the Impaler Drop only hits one person.
As long as you get the order right, the combo should always come out, though it's probably the case that some exceptions exist. Do note that this does not work at all with skills that are considered spells, they have to be weapon or character skills.
http://terosclassicgaming.blogspot.com/ - Watch me beat "GEN Alien Soldier" http://www.backloggery.com/tero - My backloggery