• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Torchlight
  3. Late (old?) News: fun facts; cheating light; other random thoughts...

User Info: ANuBiStAnGoMeGa

ANuBiStAnGoMeGa
5 years ago#1
Of course I've known about Torchlight for a while, but by various circumstances I just started playing a couple months ago. The kind of game I can get really sucked into, and this is a good one for sure. Figured out a lot about it on my own, including most of the more obvious exploits, before looking for answers online. But there's a few tricks I didn't see mentioned recently, and thought I may as well collect my thoughts here, even if I'm sure I can't be the first to find them. So yeah:

- I read someone else mention keeping the mine foreman's quest gems and then abandoning the quest, but the game actually lets me simply stash them in shared and still get the reward, without losing the gem. Is this normal? If not I have an idea how it might have happened, but I was assuming it was an intentional little gift they wanted the player to discover. Somewhere past the Estherian Ruins or so - it might be fame related, I'm trying to test that out - it's possible to get at least flawless gems if you're patient, otherwise chaos gems are always good. Got 5 'gold' Very Deadly ones so far. Anyway I'm interested to hear from someone else about this exploit.

On the subject of chaos gems, another easy way to farm them is just to create new characters in Very Hard and do the first quest. Simply exit and reload until you see the one you want before accepting / turning it in. Though I've picked up several good ones just from playing normally, mostly in VHard.