• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.

User Info: Black_Stone157

Black_Stone157
8 years ago#1
I'm a long-time veteran of the Harvest Moon series, and while I realize that Neverland is trying to
distinguish Rune Factory into a separate franchise ...

Their sudden bastardization of certain core Harvest Moon gameplay mechanics in Rune Factory Oceans
really shook me with surprise.

I watched all the videos by OtogiClover and came across one showcasing the "farming" in the game:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J92vAdZPIN4 (Skip to 3:08)

For a franchise so heavily steeped in tradition ... this whole game is a real shocker.

Taking away the ability to manually tend to your crops is a huge deal for me.

List of shocking changes to the core elements of Harvest Moon farming/mining:

* Infinite seeds, wave with a "magic wand" to plant seeds randomly.
* No more tilling.
* You can no longer water your own crops.
* More friend points with a monster = different crops.
* No season changes, plant on "magical islands" instead of farm plots.
* Use wand to make rock piles which monsters turn into ore ... no more traditional mining.
* No more shipping bin.
* Feed monsters with cookies or you won't be able to grow crops or mine.

... You don't even start the game being able to farm!

I understand that every franchise has to evolve ... but what was wrong with the mechanics
of the previous 4 games? Why did they feel such a need to overhaul the entire system?

Isn't the ocean mechanics, different setting, and unique plot structure enough?

... Something feels a bit off about this game, like it's straying a little too far away from what a
Rune Factory game should be.

I fear that Neverland's "new-and-improved" Rune Factory may be the beginning of the end of Harvest Moon as we know it.