• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Tales of Graces f
  3. Throwing up some thoughts

User Info: AfroDan42

AfroDan42
1 month ago#1
I'm sure this board is quite dead by now but I thought I'd chime in with my experience so far.

Full disclosure: This is pretty much my first tales games. I tried Symphonia and I just could not get into the battle system. I'm mostly a turn-based style kinda guy.

So I tried to play this before, but I got bored of it by the time I got to the desert. Thought I'd pick it up again, but all the enemies would be killed before I got a chance to play around and remember how it all works. So I started again, but tried it on Hard. Got my butt kicked by Nova wolf and really got into the game. I unlocked Evil and haven't set it lower since.

I'm not good at the game, and after so many tries on the Royal Guards (in evil) I relented to do a little grinding (nothing too crazy I think). For Cedric I changed to controlling Cheria and it changed the whole tide of the battle. I could distract him while Sophie healed (and sometimes get some off myself) and stun-lock him with spells when I had a chance. I still prefer Asbel for mobs though.

I can't figure out Pascal, no matter what AI settings she's dying on bosses without contributing much. Is this normal? Do I need to keep all party members levelled equally or is it cool if I leave Pascal on the bench?

I'm enjoying it a lot. As I said, I'm not good at it but I want to stick with Evil, probably give chaos a miss as this seems like the right difficulty for me. Anything I should know as I continue on?

User Info: Rimsala

Rimsala
1 month ago#2
Do you know how to use the weak point system? I'd say that can make a difference.

I'm glad you're enjoying the game, I think it's very fun :)

AfroDan42