• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Pikmin 2
  3. This game cheated me out of a perfect 8 day run by "killing" five pikmin
67burnt_fish 8 years ago#1
So I'm following the eight day guide to make sure I get it right, its my first time trying it, I've beaten the game maybe four or five times before. I've gotten to day 7 with no deaths until THIS:

I enter Sub-T complex with 30 pikmin, 5 yellows, 5 whites, 20 reds. The 70 others are idle at the ship, no deaths yet.

No bulbmin exist in Sub-T complex, so I've ruled out their deaths.

I make it with all thirty to the purple flower room near the end, send a single red in each queen candypop and end up with 16 more reds than before, making it 36 reds, 5 yellows, 5 whites.

I send 15 of the 36 reds into purple flowers, so now, with 46 pikmin, 21 red, 5 yellow, 5 white, 15 purple, I enter the final floor. I engage the spider and win. No deaths. 46 pikmin. I exit the dungeon, but lo and behold, the pikmin death counter reads "5".

"****", I say, "I must not have been paying attention." So naturally I reset my game and repeat the final floor. I count my pikmin along the way, concluding that no pikmin could have ever died for me to still have these numbers.

Nope. The dungeon completion screen reads the number of pikmin dead as "5". I'm fed up, so I continue anyway. Back at the map screen, I consult the piklopedia to see how many pikmin each enemy had killed. 0. 0 0 0 0 0 0 0. Not one pikmin killed by an enemy. None died. None off ledges either as the number remained 30 until the purple flower floor.

*** this. I've started this challenge over TWICE. Ugh...
shadowreaper7 8 years ago#2
Wow... thats so odd. In the exact same cave aswell.