Gold in chests when you have the item (error in SF76's FAQ) Lagoon
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
I've seen it posted a few times on this board and in SF76's guide that you will receive 350 Gold if you open a chest and already have the item. Well, it's true that you receive gold, but the amount varies. The total will be equal to 10 x your current level. This helps prevent some imbalance early on, like buying the Healing Pot for 10 G and making 340G profit, which is quite a lot at the start.
The game actually seems to use the same routine in all cases where it gives you an item, whether it's from talking to an NPC, opening a chest, or killing a boss, though I can't recall if it's ever possible to get the level*10 gold from anything other than opening chests without fiddling with memory.