You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. NetHack
  3. The Create a Class wishes came true - with Slash'EM Extended, the kitchen sink!

User Info: AmyBSOD

AmyBSOD
4 years ago#1
Greetings, fellow Nethackers! My name's Amy, and I'm a relatively new NetHack player who has been lurking for some while. The "Create a Class" topics on this board are what I really liked, and now has come the time for me to break my silence and announce something great. For I am a dev team, and I decided to fulfill the player's wishes to have new classes in the game.

A great many hours have been spent coding, but now Slash'EM Extended version v85 is out, a variant that is itself based on the SLASH'EM variant, and it has most of the roles that I read about in the Create a Class topics. The added roles also include some all-new ones that I made up on my own, as well as suggestions from other people, but from this very board I implemented the Librarian, Bloodseeker, Foxhound Agent, Sage, Mahou Shoujo, Otaku, Assassin and many more. And I really hope the cool dudes and dudettes who suggested them are still reading, since I'm fairly sure they knew all along that the dev team will never make those classes playable anyway. Well, "The" Dev Team didn't, and they probably wouldn't be posting here anyway since they're some really mysterious group and you'd have to be an effing NetHack celebrity to be contacted by them, but I'm a one-woman dev team with (arguably) too much time on my hands. So I went ahead and made this variant to show you all how much I appreciate the suggested new roles, and I put some effort into it to make them as close to their suggestion as possible.