• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.

User Info: Oneform

Oneform
5 years ago#1
Hi, I'm new to this and would like to start my long and arduous journey to hopefully becoming a Web developer.

Anyway, I'm aware you can use wordpad for HTML & CSS but are there any better programs?

I'm sure there is but just wondered what people had used and how good/helpful they found it.
The fine line between honour and vengeance will be crossed by one.
You went full bigfoot, you never go full bigfoot. 11/12/15 - The day it all changed.

User Info: gmo7897

gmo7897
5 years ago#2
I wouldn't use WordPad. At all. Ever.

You could use notepad, but even that really sucks for anything more than just a quick touch up.

For beginners, it's hard to go wrong with notepad++. At least it has color highlighting and auto-indent. And, honestly, for just html and css, that might be enough for you - depending on how serious you are.

What type of stuff are you looking to do? Simple pages? Dynamic content like message boards and stuff like that? Blogs? Anything in particular you're considering?
There are some walks you have to take alone.
http://www.gmo7897.com/img/gmo.png

User Info: Agedtop

Agedtop
5 years ago#3
Try Sublime Text. Consider learning a programming language. JavaScript is not a bad choice.

User Info: Oneform

Oneform
5 years ago#4
Yeah I meant Notepad.

I'm not entirely sure what I would like to do. It's something I've wanted to do for a while now and tried ages ago but stopped and then didn't try it for years until now.

I'm looking to get a job in Web development or I.T. of some sort in the not too distant future (or maybe distant future).

I plan to do some evening classes soon to add to my CV.

What other Web development languages would you recommend?

Thanks I'll look at Notepad++.