• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Mario Kart Tour
  3. Awkward controls

User Info: gloBal enemy

gloBal enemy
1 month ago#1
Just did the tutorial race and whilst I managed to win, the "Drift mode" controls feel so awkward. The game recommended to use these rather than the simplified controls for total newbies, but I struggled to get the swiping correct and it felt counter-intuitive to play. Has anyone else found this? Will it get better with time?

I'd try more but the game failed to load the assets afterwards so... I only had one go.
If you can understand this, I'm 2/cosC for you.

User Info: MC Link

MC Link
1 month ago#2
I've played two races and came first on both - used the drift controls but I've played a lot of Mario Kart over the years.

I believe you want to stay away from drift if you're a newbie to the series and so if I were you I would go to settings and change the controls to simplified.

Good luck!! :)
*/******\/*****\*C Link : 3DS FC 0774-4325-8143 - Fransisco
{___(\__/)___} "@ValKilmer4Life"-Twitter tweet me!

User Info: gloBal enemy

gloBal enemy
1 month ago#3
I've been playing Mario Kart for many years and even bought MK8 three times (Wii U, Switch, and then Switch eShop) but I still find swiping really difficult. I also wondered if my tempered glass protector which gives it a bit of resistance/stickiness when I swipe contributes to the challenge but still just felt... odd.
If you can understand this, I'm 2/cosC for you.

User Info: XxGhaleonxX

XxGhaleonxX
1 month ago#4