You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Disgaea 1 Complete
  3. So... Is the only way to play this game grinding?

User Info: RemusJoestar

RemusJoestar
1 month ago#1
Hi, guys. First of all, I'm a complete noob. I love SRPGs and while not an expert I considered myself pretty good at them. But this is my first Disgaea game.
I like the game so far, but I read a few guides, posts and stuff and
1) They normally talk about post-game stuff
2) Almost always mention grinding

I'm not really interested in the post-game or powerlevelling to be honest, I just want to finish the story and leave it at that. But I'm having a little trouble. I'm on the last stage of Hero's Will, Overlord's Way (Hero's Tomb) and I find that while earlier episodes were pretty easy after grinding a little, now the diferrence in levels between my party and the enemies keeps getting bigger.
So I replayed some stages and grinded 3-4 levels for every unit and was pretty happy. But then I checked some strategies for the stage (just in case, hadn't needed help so far) and find that people with like 8 levels more in their party than me had been having difficulty...
Maybe I'm just doing it wrong? The grinding I mean. The game says I can beat it with minimal knowledge of the Item World and Dark Assembly so I almost never used them.
So... Is the only answer always grinding a little (lot) more?
Can I just play the game just to beat the story without all that stuff about Statisticians and all that? You know, like a normal SRPG? Or did I just chose a game that isn't for me? When I can advance through the story with little problem is super fun, but then every so often I find myself getting to some wall in difficulty I have to overcome with grinding
Thanks in advance, doods!
"I will hunt you AND the night!"