• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Monster Hunter: World
  3. Beginner here, which should I start with as a main weapon?

User Info: nebula2

nebula2
2 weeks ago#11
LS is the best begginer weapon.

PSN:Nebuladark, Switch FC:SW-0857-4415-9982,
3DS: FC:0774-5319-1816, ACNL:Nebula from Ygdrasil, MHGenU:Serenade, MHworld:Serenade.

User Info: Fairycancel

Fairycancel
2 weeks ago#12
Don't recommend LS people xD. Yes it got range and its quick/evasive but it have very lackluster damage if ypu don't use it's risky moves and they tend to be also fairly hard to use. LS was a good starter wep on the past but not now. Dependant on gauge and risky moves is a bad combination
MHGen Ign: Soleil, Mordecai
Like to often use: Bow(Drilltusk/Teo Adept), DB(FMDX=Aerial), LS(Guild/Striker), GS(Aerial from time to time)

User Info: bakalap22

bakalap22
2 weeks ago#13
Being a LS main miself I would recommend for a begginer Hammer to learn positioning or Switch Axe. LS is too forgiving with foresight counter and range , its important to know where and when to hit and how to dodge and LS for a beginner can be all over the place when fighting which translates in less damage.

User Info: Rhiethreal

Rhiethreal
2 weeks ago#14
SA is the objectively best choice.

SA lacks real crutches and has enough going on that learning to play it will allow you to quickly learn any other melee weapons after learning SA first.

LS is crutch central. Not a bad thing if you already know how to play, but it will hurt you in the long run if you become dependent on it.

CB plays its own game with little carry over. You'll learn to play the CB, but nothing else really, and sort of pidgeon hole yourself in the long run.