• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
This topic contains spoilers - you can click, tap, or highlight to reveal them
  1. Boards
  2. Monster Hunter: World
  3. Beginner here, which should I start with as a main weapon?

User Info: Silver Shadow X

Silver Shadow X
2 weeks ago#1
Fairly conflicted

tl;dr - I've narrowed down my immediate interests to these 4 weapons. They seem fun, they're all pretty strong. I intend to learn the ins and outs, and would like opinions on which of these might be best. Maybe these are all a bad choice starting out, even if I do intend to use full guides to learn the weapons?

---

I've spent a while now considering what I want to go with here. Not like constantly - I'm playing other games, and every now and then I check a tier list or youtube vid or something. I have been using explanations found in this list on the site below for reference. Is this a mistake? If so, where should I look for trustworthy explanations of weapon pros and cons?

https://www.gamersdecide.com/articles/monster-hunter-world-tier-list-mhw-best-weapons

I haven't played a whole lot, just got run through some expeditions by a friend to get me some resources. After looking at all the weapons, I decided I definitely do not want to play the following:

1. Great Sword - Too slow and one dimensional, although it's a weapon of choice for the most experienced players for its damage output when you know precisely what you're doing, apparently.
  2. Sword and Shield - not much damage, not very interesting.