• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Fire Emblem: Three Houses
  3. Realistically how less of a challenge is Maddening

User Info: kanon951

kanon951
2 months ago#1
when you play on a NG+?

So, I'm fairly new to the series and I like this game a lot. I've been through my first playthrough on Hard which was a nice challenge up to a point where I managed to make some units really OP which made the game as if I was playing on Normal.

I'm currently planning on doing a new playthrough but from what I've seen and read Maddening difficulty have some really jacked up stats and you have to plan every single move in order to not get destroyed (not to mention the infamous Chapter 13). For veterans of this game, how much of a challenge would you say will be taken away if I use some of the bonuses of NG+?

Is that a fair middle ground between the standard Hard and standard Maddening difficulty?

User Info: sonicnewboy

sonicnewboy
2 months ago#2
It's a fair middle ground yes. It's not as easy as hard, so it's more enjoyable to play through. But it's also significantly easier than a new game. The reason is that your statues are not reset, so units will gain class experience much faster, mastering new skills faster which gives them more options in battle.

I think I've had my share of NG and will be doing NG+ from now forward. It's just a lot more fun having more options with what you can do with characters.
FC: 2449-4776-5871 (New Boy)

User Info: Ssa00

Ssa00
2 months ago#3
Maddening is not so hard that you have to plan every single move. Many players uploading their play (and me) goof up a lot and we manage. Just make sure to use battalions to the fullest extent of benefits they provide and don't train too many units.