• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Paper Mario - Social
  3. I don't like this Bill Gates hate

User Info: HeyDude

HeyDude
2 weeks ago#1
The guy has been deep diving into save-the-world projects for years and all these people are acting like it's some kind of nefarious thing. What the heck, people??

User Info: Jacehan

Jacehan
2 weeks ago#2
He should stick to saving the world about things he actually knows about. As a NYC teacher, I experienced first hard the deleterious effects of his foundation on education policy. Go away Bill Gates.
"To truly live, one must first be born." ~ Evan [aX]
Paper Mario Social:
The Safe Haven of GameFAQs. (Board 2000083)

HeyDude
2 weeks ago#3
Can you tell me a little about that?

Jacehan
2 weeks ago#4
There's a lot to it, but the biggest one was his push for "small schools" which broke up most of the major high schools in New York, pushing out experienced teachers who were expensive to hire for the new small schools that didn't have large budgets, ballooning the amount of administration compared to teachers eating into those budgets because now you have 4x as many principals, etc, and cutting the resources of all the schools so they can't have clubs or sports or classes that aren't the core classes because they don't have enough students to have those things.
Paper Mario Social:

HeyDude
2 weeks ago#5
Aw, yuck. That does sound bad. Is there an upside or no?

Jacehan
2 weeks ago#6
The supposed upside is that people are more likely to know each and other and so students won't "fall through the cracks" because some adult in the building will notice and take care. While that's kinda true, if they don't have the resources to help, it doesn't really work out that way.
Paper Mario Social:

User Info: willis5225

willis5225
2 weeks ago#7