• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Final Fantasy VIII
  3. Laguna and Winhill (spoilers)

User Info: GeneralRaiden

GeneralRaiden
5 months ago#1
Replaying the game for the hundredth time but something that’s just struck me is why do the residents of Winhill want Laguna to leave so badly? The woman in the flower shop encourages him to go and the item shop guy hates his guts but like...why? I get that they are probably protective of Raine but Laguna is a pretty stand up guy looking after Ellone and killing monsters. What’s their problem?

User Info: justhelpmepleas

justhelpmepleas
5 months ago#2
I think it's because he was a soldier and they resent him because of it since Esthar soldiers are out and about in that time I believe. I'm no expert so I might be wrong.

User Info: david_crockett9

david_crockett9
5 months ago#3
I think it's partially due to him being an ex-soldier and partially due to him being an outsider in general. Winhill seems like a fairly isolated town, probably sees its fair share of military/ex-military guys come through with less than good memories amongst the townsfolk. They just want to go through their lives with minimal contact from the outside world and they're tightly knit. Laguna, with his ideas and never-ending mouth and city ways, makes them uncomfortable because he's everything they tend to avoid, but he's also got some absurd level of charisma? Dude manages to get a country to follow him based purely on his passionate speeches, but as we've also seen in the game, it's entirely possible he just rubbed most of, if not the entire town the wrong way. He's an idiot with a heart of gold, which makes him the perfect leader (somehow).
Aspiring village idiot
LoL ign: downrightdavid

User Info: palatinae

palatinae
5 months ago#4