This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

First playthrough Planning Help (Please no spoilers if possible!)?

• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
This topic contains spoilers - you can click, tap, or highlight to reveal them
  1. Boards
  2. Final Fantasy VII
  3. First playthrough Planning Help (Please no spoilers if possible!)?

User Info: Peerlessly

Peerlessly
2 years ago#1
Hello, this is my first time playing FF7, and instead of going through the hassle of making every character the same, I decided to give characters "job classes" since I just recently finished playing FF5. I don't plan to use enemy skill for my first playthrough because of overpoweredness/annoyingness to get, and also summons since I hear that they are useless.
This is my planned party:
Cloud:Red Mage/Time Mage/Paladin: Fire,Ice,and thunder magic, with restore and time magic, mp plus, cover, mp absorb
Tifa:Monk/White Mage/Geomancer: Restore Magic, White Magic Buffs such as barrier and wall, slash all,double cut, deathblow,counter attack,hp plus, magic +,earth,wind,and holy magic
Cid: Physical Based,Dragoon: All Command Materia ,long range,counter attack, speed +, luck +,mega all,elemental,hp absorb
I don't plan to use the other characters.

Would the final boss be beatable without enemy skill and summons, and also with the party I have planned? I'm afraid that Tifa's and Cloud's attack power will be so low as a result of the amount of materia I have equipped, and only Cid will be decent at physical damage. I don't know how effective magic is on the final boss either. I probably am overthinking this and I don't even know if there are enough slots per character that can fit all the materia that I listed..any help is appreciated.

User Info: shadow666

shadow666
2 years ago#2