You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Pokemon GO
  3. Question on vaule of IV/weather boost/CP number

User Info: sflowers539

sflowers539
4 weeks ago#1
I’m new to analyzing this, generally I am wondering what Pokémon would be better in combat, a higher IV rating one or a lower IV one with a much higher CP due to weather boost? Assuming moves sets are the same. For example I have a 2321 Kyorge which is rated higher IV then a much higher CP weather boosted 2857 one. I’m not huge on powering them up, but in their current form which one is better to attack and defend gyms?

User Info: Mizznox

Mizznox
4 weeks ago#2
In terms of which is better right now, generally CP > IVs

CP is a function of base stats + IVs and the Pokemon's level. Level has a much bigger impact than IVs. The weather boost made your second Kyogre 5 levels higher, and that big of a level difference will trump any IV difference.

A perfect 15/15/15 level 20 Kyogre has 131 HP and its effective stats for the damage formula are ~170 attack and ~145 defense

If you had a 0% level 25 Kyogre (obviously yours is 10/10/10 or better), it would have 136 HP and its effective stats would be ~180 attack and ~152 defense
https://i.imgur.com/qUAL3fG.gifv

User Info: Xenozoa425

Xenozoa425
4 weeks ago#3
In short term, CP is more valuable than IV percentage. Lower level players will find a lv25 more valuable than a lv20 because the difference in strength is very notable.

In long term, IV percentage is more valuable than CP. Lv40 players want to usually maximize their damage, and going for 90+ IV spreads is the best way to do it, and they generally have resources to bring them up to good breakpoint levels (usually 30, 30.5, 35, 36, etc)
"Your flesh is a relic, a mere vessel. Hand over your flesh, and a new world awaits you. We demand it."