• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
This topic contains spoilers - you can click, tap, or highlight to reveal them
  1. Boards
  2. Horizon Zero Dawn
  3. Ultra hard on First Play

User Info: Berating

Berating
1 month ago#11
khangkhanh posted...
Why not. I am completely new to the game and is playing on ultra hard without using any cheap reduce difficulty.

I only put 1 point in silent strike and the rest to scavenger and traveler. I get drop kinda frequently though. I also farm striders for some early purple mods then sells them for shard. It is not that hard though. When I got enough shard for Sharp Bow (god damn 525 shards), I used it to one shot Watcher very easily. It is my main damage now. You need to make use of silent strike to save your arrows and one shot strider,gazer or lower machines but at I am now (just completed the first bandit camp), I have like unlimited hunter arrows and fire arrows (hunter arrow's damage suck but fire very good) thanks to the scavenger and traveler point. I even killed the first Sawtooth in my 2nd try with sharp bow and 4 wire traps.

I don't know the rest how of the game is but it seem very possible so far. Hunter bow normal arrows is very bad at damage, just R1 or R2 instead. Otherwise using fire arrows, you will get tons of blaze when you farm striders and gazers.

the bolded part, that's why i personally wouldn't do it. the way i view it is, i'm playing a coming of age story where you are a huntress seeking to unravel the mysteries of the world, and herself, and devoting any unnecessary time to farm for parts deducts entirely from that experience IMO. even on very hard i never had to farm for anything, except maybe healing herbs, and that wasn't really farming