• Topic Archived
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Dark Souls III
  3. As Replayable As Previous Souls Games?

User Info: johnrayjr

johnrayjr
4 months ago#1
As a general disclaimer, I'm new to DS3 (wrapping up my first playthrough), but would consider it among the best games on the PS4.

That said, I'm not sure I will dive right back in to experiment with a new build. Some of that could just be me (mood, state of mind), but for some reason I don't feel like it will be as thrilling to explore new approaches. I played the original Dark Souls three times in a row: first as a mage, second as a stone-armor-great-zweihander/great-club tank, third as a DEX-INT darkmoon rogue. Fantastic experience. Did something similar with Demon's.

Here, I played a pure Dex build, and I don't feel like there's as much room to dive back in and aggressively seek out advantages for a STR build or a mage/pyro. I anticipate the game feeling closer to my original run.

Am I crazy? What is everyone else's experience.

User Info: ImmortalDragonX

ImmortalDragonX
4 months ago#2
I've never played any of the previous Souls games. Just DS3 and Bloodborne.

However, I've made and played numerous different characters with different build and/or weapon setups. I've also deleted a few to make room for new characters. For me, that's part of the fun of playing this game is trying to come up with a new idea for a character and making it as close as I can to what I'm imagining.