• Post New Message
You're browsing the GameFAQs Message Boards as a guest. Sign Up for free (or Log In if you already have an account) to be able to post messages, change how messages are displayed, and view media in posts.
  1. Boards
  2. Dragon Quest III
  3. Why is my guy always a level behind the rest of my team?

User Info: jw91

jw91
2 years ago#1
This is despite the fact that two of my party members got KO'd and I had to walk back to town to revive them, killing monsters with my MC and one other member. So in theory I would assume that my main character should have the highest level, but he's always one step behind the others. One of my party members in particular is a full TWO levels above the rest of my team. Why is this?

Sorry if this is a noob question. It's my first time through the game and I don't really have a lot of experience with DQ as a whole. Does it have to do with the personality system? I thought that only affected your stat growths.

User Info: Kigalas

Kigalas
2 years ago#2
The Hero has a higher experience table than the other classes, simple as that. This is especially noticeable if your other party members don’t use magic.

https://www.woodus.com/den/games/dw3nes/exp_levels.php
Streaming Randomizers & other games I enjoy 4 nights a week - http://twitch.tv/kigalas

jw91
2 years ago#3
D'oh! That actually makes a lot of sense. Over time I've become used to modern RPGs where experience pools are more or less the same for all classes and characters. I'm obviously beyond my comfort zone here lol, but I'm enjoying the game anyway.

User Info: oldguy2

oldguy2
2 years ago#4
Glad you are enjoying this game.
In many ways, I find these old JRPGs to be just as, if not more, enjoyable than the new ones.
In particular, I like to watch TV while playing, and that gets me killed in most new games.
He's got the whole world in His hands: earth, wind, fire, water, and time.

jw91
2 years ago#5
oldguy2 posted...
Glad you are enjoying this game.